Facebook’s Whatsapp privacy changes

Images of WhatsApp As Facebook Inc. Makes Acquisition For $19 Billion

If you updated your WhatsApp within the last month or so, you would know about the privacy policies Facebook just added which allows your information to be shared on Facebook. This is not necessarily a bad thing considering most WhatsApp users already use Facebook.

However, the downside is advertisers will most likely use the data from the messaging app to enable advertisers to better target those users on Facebook and Instagram. In addition, it would allow businesses to send messages to WhatsApp users directly,  which is where I draw the line. I don’t want anyone sending me ads (this is the main reason I don’t use BBM like I used to).

If you’re like me and you don’t want to be targeted by advertisers on Facebook, you ONLY have until end of today to make the change. You can do this with 5 easy steps:

1. Open your Whatsapp
2. Click on Settings
3. Click on Account
4. You will see ‘Share my account info’
5. If you read what is underneath, you’ll see that all your information from Whatsapp is shared with Facebook. Uncheck the box and you’re good.

One thought on “Facebook’s Whatsapp privacy changes

Leave a comment